Rock News

System of a Down returns with two new songs

Columbia Records

In a year full of unexpected things happening, we now have System of a Down releasing new music.

The “Chop Suey!” rockers have broken their 15-year drought with a pair of new singles: “Protect the Land” and “Genocidal Humanoidz.” Both tracks are available now for digital download.

System wrote the songs following the eruption of violence between Artsakh, a long-disputed region made up of mostly ethnic Armenians, and the nation of Azerbaijan, which is being aided by Turkey. All the members of System descend from Armenia.

“The aggression and injustice being perpetrated against the Armenian people in Artsakh and Armenia by Azerbaijan and Turkey is a human rights violation and a war crime,” says vocalist Serj Tankian

“All of us in System realize this is an existential battle for our people, so this is very personal for us,” he adds. “What we need right now is for the world to put politics aside and support Armenia by sanctioning Turkey and Azerbaijan and recognizing Artsakh.”

Proceeds earned from the songs will be donated to the Armenia Fund.

“Protect the Land” and “Genocidal Humanoidz” are the first new songs from System of a Down since the band’s 2005 albums, Mezmerize and Hypnotize. The last few years in particular have been filled with drama regarding progress on potential new music due to creative differences between the band members.

By Josh Johnson
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.